Wednesday, November 12, 2014

Lucky Cat S9E1 Nov 2014 - Podcast

  • Strange Things - John Holt (Sun Shot label 7")
  • Do You Love Me - John Holt (Bamboo label 7")
  • Stick By Me - John Holt (Jackpot label 7")
  • 神仙药 (Shen Xian Yao)
  •  - AM444 (from the CD album Eye Wonder)
  • Orphans - Dalida (Barclay label 7" EP)
  • Kentucky Home - The Vic Brown Combo (Rio label 7")
  • Don't Stay Out Late - Lord Creator (Randy's label 7" reissue)

  • RIP John Holt, Reggae Legend

    Sunday, November 02, 2014

    Lucky Cat Series 9 Starts Sat 8th Nov

    I am delighted to announce that Lucky Cat returns to the airwaves for its 9th series next Saturday 8th November at 3.30pm.  Tune in via 104.4FM in London or via anywhere.  The series will run for 7 weeks.

    Treats in store for this series include:

    • Chinese Reggae - how did a Chinese generalissimo become the moniker of a Reggae rhythm?
    • New music from China
    • East Asian movie news and reviews
    • The History of Manga
    • Vietnamese street food and other culinary delights
    • Music galore - oldies from Indonesia, John Holt tribute, Chinese Christmas songs, 60's Japanese girl groups and more.....
    I'm on Twitter now so if you want to Tweet during the show or just anytime really I'm here: @luckycatzoe


    Thursday, October 30, 2014

    Occupy Hong Kong Protest Art

    Amazing video.  Thanks for the heads-up

    Monday, October 13, 2014

    Lucky Cat Supper Club Photos

    I am pleased to say that last Friday's first ever Lucky Cat Supper Club was a belt busting success!  The food was appreciated and everyone had a wonderful evening.  I played a mixture of vinyl to create an ambience; Poon Sow Keng, Nat King Cole, Desmond Dekker, Josephine Siao Fong Fong, Fats Domino and Patsy Cline.

    Here are some photos of the night:
    My husband assembling the Vietnamese chicken soups 
    Teapots to serve the chicken broth - diners pour the broth into their own bowls
    Part of the trio of starters - prawn lettuce wraps
    Chicken soup bowls ready for the broth
    Char siu pork with fresh mint garnish. Mmmmm.
    Pudding: Pandan coconut (kaya) pots with fresh fruit salad

    Thursday, September 18, 2014

    Lucky Cat Supper Club

    My husband and I are hosting a Lucky Cat Supper Club at the lovely Windy Corner Stores cafe in Whitstable, Kent.  There are only a few places left if you want to book! 

    My husband is a talented chef and we designed the menu together.  I will be helping in the kitchen and then playing records and serving the delicious food for guests. We hope this will be the first of many Lucky Cat Supper Clubs!


    Tuesday, September 02, 2014

    Lazy Prawn & Butternut Squash Curry

    I couldn't be bothered to make a curry paste so I knocked up this lazy curry last night.  It was pretty good and I was impressed with the tamarind stock cubes which were a new find in my local Thai emporium.


    • 2 handfuls of king prawns
    • Half a butternut squash, chopped into 1inch wedges/squares
    • 1 large onion, roughly chopped
    • 2 cloves garlic, finely chopped
    • 1.5 teaspoons of tumeric powder
    • 1 cinnamon stick
    • 1 dried chilli (I used facing heaven chilli)
    • 1 teaspoon shrimp paste
    • 1 tamarind stock cube dissolved in 400ml boiling water
    • 1 can coconut milk
    • Fish sauce to taste
    • Black pepper to taste
    • Top up with water if nec (i.e. sauce becoming too thick)
    • Ground nut oil for frying
    • Chopped spring onion for garnish


    Heat the oil in a large wok, add the onions, turn down heat and let them soften.  Whilst softening sprinkle in turmeric powder and add chilli and cinnamon stick.  Then after some minutes stir in the shrimp paste and the garlic.  Careful, don't burn it!  Pour in coconut milk.  Keep the can so you can use it to top up with water later if needed.  Add in the tamarind stock.
    Bring to the boil and add butternut squash.  Cook for 20 mins on a simmer.  Add fish sauce and some black pepper.
    Chop a spring onion for the garnish while you are waiting.
    Add prawns and cook for further 5mins (longer if raw).

    Serve on rice or quinoa in a bowl and garnish with spring onion.  Extra chilli dip on side if you like.

    Monday, September 01, 2014

    DJing @ Dislocating Asia Thursday 2nd October

    I'm pleased to announce that I will be DJing at the event Dislocating Asia on Thursday 2nd October at the Forge in Camden.  This is part of the Camden Migration Festival which explores the migration of birds and people through the arts, celebrating cultural expansion.  

    The event has been organised by senior lecturer in Sociology at the University of Winchester; Diana Yeh.  

    • Orwell Prize shortlisted blogger Anna Chen reads from her ‘brilliant and dangerous’ poetry collection, Reaching for my Gnu (Aaaargh! Press), and tries out some new poems. 
    Live music from:
    • Semi-acoustic Hapa trio Wondermare 
    • British Chinese musician/composer Liz Chi Yen Liew (her latest album is  Snapshots), with Dennis Lee on the xiao (flute) and guzheng (zither).
    • My DJ set of Chinese golden oldies and fresh new sounds from Shanghai and Beijing.

    Tickets are available now from:
    Hope to see you at this fantastic event!